skip to Main Content

Mountains of the Moon University (MMU) and Mbarara University of Science and Technology sign agreement on Bilateral Cooperation and MoU to a Jointly awarded PhD programme.

The Vice-Chancellor of Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST) Prof. Celestino Obua and the Vice-Chancellor of Mountains of the Moon University (MMU) Prof. Pius Coxwell Achanga have signed a 5-year agreement on bilateral cooperation and a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) to a jointly awarded PhD programme. This was done on May 31st May 2023 at MMU Lake Saaka Campus in Fort-Portal City. 

The signing preceded a guest lecture facilitated by Prof. Obua to MMU Deans of Faculties and Heads of Departments under the theme: “Academic Excellence through Research.” 

The objective of the cooperation between both parties is aimed at collaborating in scientific research, academic, educational, public and cultural activities.

The bilateral agreement stipulates that in order to develop scientific research, academic, educational, public and cultural activities both universities shall cooperate along the following directions: Organization and carrying out joint scientific seminars, conferences, symposiums, etc; Development and implementation of joint scientific and research projects; creation of scientific research teams including author-supervised groups to meet scientific research and educational challenges; Exchange of scientific research findings, publications, and teaching materials. 

Other areas of cooperation include: Exchange of practical experience of using advanced technologies and methods of teaching; providing mutual assistance in training researchers; Exchange of lecturers, young researchers, and other representatives of university staff in order to deliver lectures, master the latest technologies and methods of scientific research and to improve educational work; and Organization of student exchange in order to acquire a better knowledge of history, culture, education, and other aspects of life in the Republic of Uganda, in order to enhance students’ campus experience. 

In relation to a jointly awarded PhD programme, the joint responsibilities of Mountains of the Moon University and Mbarara University Include the following: To award a joint Doctorate; To share the responsibilities of supervising and coordinating a researchers PhD trajectory and organize a joint examination procedure; To set the minimum terms and conditions of the joint PhD in order to guarantee the quality of the degree.  It must be clear to all parties what is expected from the joint PhD; To coordinate the administrative processes of the joint programme; To abide by the existing approved policies on the award of Joint Doctorates of each University.


Heights For Progress 

Brens Willie Wambedde

Communications & Public Relations Officer 

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back To Top